Health Politics

Adeleke sworn-in as sixth executive governor of Osun

Ademola Adeleke has been sworn-in as the sixth democratically- elected governor of Osun State.

He became the governor of the state having being administered the oaths of allegiance and office by the State Chief Judge, Justice Oyebola Adepele-Ojo at about 11:45am on Sunday at the Osogbo Township Stadium.

The new governor, who entered the premises where the event was held around 11:15am in a black jeep, was adorn in white flowing Agbada and his popular cap.

Adeleke, in his inauguration speech directed the immediate freezing of all government accounts in banks and other financial institutions.

He also directed the immediate establishment of a panel of enquiry to carry out an inventory and recover all government assets

The new governor noted that immediate past administration carried out mass employment without budgetary provisions for salary payments for the new employees even when the state was struggling to pay salaries and deliver other services.

Adeleke also said that various hurried and criminally backdated contracts were awarded and again without budgetary provisions.

He stated further that “Appointments of several Obas were hurriedly done without following due process, just to mention a few.

“It is therefore my desire to ask for your patience and understanding to give my administration a few weeks to review and sort out all the actions and malicious confusions which the immediate past administration has created since July 17th 2022. Those actions were indeed vindictive measures against the people of Osun State for voting them out of office.

“Consequently, I hereby issue the following directives which will be backed up with appropriate Executive orders: Immediate freezing of all government accounts in banks and other financial institutions, Immediate establishment of a panel to carry out an inventory and recover all government assets.

See also  Aviation industry will not resume on June 21 – DG NCAA

“An immediate establishment of a panel to review all appointments and major decisions of the immediate past administration taken after the 17th July, 2022, an immediate reversal to the constitutionally recognised name of our state, Osun State. All government insignia, correspondences and signages should henceforth reflect Osun state rather than State of Osun which is unknown to the Nigerian constitution.”

He therefore promised that those expectations of the workers, traders, artisans, farmers, business owners, students, pensioners, traditional and religious leaders and indeed all residents of Osun State will be met .

“Let me state here that from the education, health, mining Sector, agriculture, road infrastructure and supply of portable water, let it be known to all that it is no longer going to be business as usual. And I repeat, it is no longer business as usual

“Our administration will demonstrate a high sense of urgency, transparency, justice and innovation to tackle and solve the problems of poverty, illiteracy, disease, and poor infrastructure.

“Your Governor will be a people’s Governor. I will be accessible, responsive, consultative and proactive in handling small and big matters of State Governance. I know that as a product of the collective will of you my people, there is a heavy weight of history on my shoulders and I accept the urgency of your expectations, the depth of your aspirations and your conviction in me to build a better State,” hr stated.

The Vice Presodential candidate of Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), Ifeanyi Okowa, Governors of Edo, Akwa-Ibom, Bayelsa, Godwin Obaseki, Emmanuel Udom, Sentor Douye Diri were also part of the entourage to the capital of Osogbo for the inauguration.

See also  Breaking News: UNILAG Raises Tuition Fees from N19k to Exceeding N140k

BusinessDay reports that former governors of Osun, Ekiti and Oyo states, Olagunsoye Oyinlola,Ayodele Fayose and Rasheed Ladoja respectively, graced the event ongoing at the venue.

Some other guests at the venue included Oyewole Fasawe, wife of the People’s Democratic Party Presidential candidate, Titi Atiku Abubakar; Lagos PDP governorship aspirant, Olajide Adediran; Francis Fadahunsi, former Osun deputy gvernor, Olusola Obada; Oluwole Oke, Tony Elumelu, among many others.

Monarchs at the inauguration were the Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Adewusi; Timi of Ede, Oba Munirudeen Lawal; Orangun of Ila, Oba AbdulWahab Oyedotun; Ataoja of Osogbo, Oba Jimoh Olanipekun, among other monarchs.